Bye-bye! :(

screenValhalla194-pRO-Valhalla-closesI regret to say that this is a short-lived blog.

Silly me. I shouldn’t have hoped that the Valhalla Server would last for as long as Philippine Ragnarok Online (pRO) would be up. In case you’re lost on what I’m talking about, the Valhalla Server of pRO closed on the evening of the 28th of January, 2013 (Monday). MY beloved server … OUR beloved server … gone.

To make matters worse, it was announced that accounts from the Valhalla Server would be merged with accounts from New Loki, aka “server merge”, and the new server resulting from such would be named, New Loki. Not much inspiration in naming; they reasoned out that the alphabetical order of the two server names was the basis.

The worst of this all? The New Loki server, although a free-to-play server, will be a Player-Kill (PK) server! Ugh! So basically, this leaves New Chaos, the only pay-to-play server in pRO, as the only non-PK server.

I hate PK! This is the main reason why, when I re-entered the world of Rune-Midgard of Ragnarok Online, I chose the Valhalla Server. I play online games to have a great time by myself, or in a party doing quests or hunting boss monsters. I’m not competitive when it comes to online games. I don’t engage in any form of PK combat. I hate it! I infernally hate!

What’s to hate, you ask? For one, characters who seem nice walk up to you and suddenly, beat the crap out of you and leave you dead! And you thought they just wanted to have a nice and friendly conversation. Second, all that EGO stemming from a successful PK combat. It’s over-the-top and downright pathetic! The PK option also encourages a lot of real-life spending for in-game items to make your character powerful and subsequently topple whoever is in the number one spot. It’s just not for me.

Of course, I could go to the New Chaos server. I believe I can take the burden of paying to play in it, but the thing is, I don’t want to start again. I’ve put in a lot of effort refining my characters’ builds on the Valhalla Server that I’m just too disheartened to continue playing pRO. Oh well. I thought pRO and me would be a life-long gaming relationship, but it wasn’t meant to be. Time to look for other gaming venues.

But I sure will miss Ragnarok Online. 😦

As such, I won’t be updating this blog anymore. I meant this blog to be gaming blog with much emphasis on my alternate life on Philippine Ragnarok Online — Valhalla Server. All other gaming-related blog posts will be published on my main blog, Recis Dempayos.

See you there. Cheers!

One thought on “Bye-bye! :(

  1. Recis Dempayos Post author

    Reblogged this on Recis Dempayos and commented:

    This is my last post from my Full Support Gamer gaming blog. Moving forward, all gaming-related blog posts will be published here.
    Yeah, I’m also a gamer. I am a lot of things. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

